News and views of Bangladeshi community in Australia

ABBC holds AGM and elects new
Executive Committee

Press Release

Australia Bangladesh Business Council (ABBC) held its 11th Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 22 April, 2018 at the ‘Rowers on Cooks River’ in Sydney's Wolli Creek. Most of the financial members of the organisation attended the AGM, discussed general business and elected a new executive committee for the term 2018-2020.

During the first part of the AGM, the outgoing Chairperson, Monirul Islam, mentioned that from a modest start in 2004, ABBC has become a peak-body for bi-lateral trade and investment between Australia and Bangladesh. The outgoing Secretary, Asif Kawnine, gave an account of the key activities performed by the organisation in the last couple of years which highlights the excellent achievement by the council this term. Monirul Islam and Asif Kawnine both thanked all members of the organisation for their support in making ABBC the vibrant business platform that it is. Kamrul Islam, the outgoing Treasurer, reported the financials of ABBC through which it was evident that the organisation has created a much healthier financial position over the term in comparison to any earlier terms. An ordinary resolution was tabled at the AGM to modify the membership fee structure as of 1st of July 2018 and the members voted to pass the resolution.

Upon conclusion of general business, the committee was dissolved by the Chairperson and an election for a new committee was conducted by Enam Hoque as election commissioner with Abu Reza Arefin and Dr. Wali Ul Islam assisting him in the conduction. Members exercised their voting rights to elect the new executive committee. Asif Kawnine, the outgoing Secretary was unanimously voted to be the incoming Chairperson for the new term. Nirmalya Talukder, Mohammed Sarker, Javed Hoque and Adbul Hoque were elected Vice-chairperson, Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Treasurer respectively. Eight executive members were elected as well of which the outgoing Chairperson Monirul Islam was unanimously voted to be honorarily included. The remaining seven executive member positions were well contested by thirteen individuals and members elected their choices.

Newly formed Executive Committee of ABBC for 2018-2020

Position Name
Chairperson Asif KAWNINE
Vice-Chairperson Nirmalya TALUKDER
Secretary Mohammed SARKER
Assistant Secretary Javed HOQUE
Treasurer Abdul HOQUE
Executive Members Monirul ISLAM
Kamrul ISLAM
Mohammad ZAMAN
Rahmat ULLAH
Ashrafi MIAN
Hossain ARJU
Mohammad HOSSAIN

Once the new office bearers and executive committee was elected, Enam Hoque and Jehangir Alam was elected in the Advisory Board of the Australia Bangladesh Business Council.

Newly elected Executive Committee of ABBC on 22nd of April, 2018 with members of Election Commission and Advisory Board

Front row (from left):Javed Hoque (Asst Secretary), Wali Ul Islam (Member, Election Commission), Abdul Hoque (Treasurer), Mohammed Sarker (Secretary), Asif Kawnine (Chairperson), Enam Hoque (Member, Election Commission & Member, Advisory Board), Nirmalya Talukder (Vice-Chairperson), Jehangir Alam (Member, Advisory Board)

Back row (from left): Abu Reza Arefin (Member, Election Commission), Monirul Islam (Executive Member), Kamrul Islam (Executive Member), Mohammad Zaman (Executive Member), Rahmat Ullah (Executive Member), Abu Shahadat Sarker (Executive Member), Mohammad Hossain (Executive Member), Ashrafi Mian (Executive Member), Mohammad Arju (Executive Member).

Click for details

Share on Facebook               Home Page             Published on: 24-Apr-2018

Coming Events: